~ Meeting Minutes~

Androscoggin County Budget Committee October 4, 2023

Budget Committee Meeting

6:00 p.m.

- **I. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER:** by Chair Lisa Cesare at 6:00 p.m.
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. ROLL CALL

Budget Committee members present:

- District 1. Larry Pease, Lewiston Councilor, Ward 5
- District 1. Robert Reed, Lewiston Resident
- District 3. Paula Masselli, Lewiston Resident, Ward 6
- District 5. Gordon Bell, Auburn Resident
- District 6. Jane Pentheny, Poland Selectperson
- District 6. Larry Pelletier, Auburn Resident
- District 7. Vice-Chair Kevin Nichols, Turner Selectperson
- District 7. Chair Lisa Cesare, Minot Selectperson

Budget Committee members absent:

- District 2. Linda Scott
- District 2. Vacant (Resident)
- District 4. Noel Hinkley, Sabattus Selectperson
- District 4. Angela Mitchell, Sabattus Resident
- District 3. Lee Clement, Lewiston Councilor, Ward 6
- District 5. Phil Crowell, Auburn City Manager

Other:

County Administrator Clarice Proctor, Steve Sherlock, Sandy Berube, Commissioners Roland Poirier, Edouard Plourde, Brian Ames, Sheriff Eric Samson, Hillary Nadeau, Craig Zurhorst, Lynn Holland, Isabella Viscelli, Amy Landry, Emma Lorusso, Tina Chouinard.

IV. CONSIDERATION & CONFIRMATION OF NEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS- N/A

V. CONSIDERATION OF SEPTEMBER 27, 2023 BUDGET COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES FOR APPROVAL

On motion of Larry Pease, seconded by Paula Masselli, it was

VOTED:

(019-2023) to approve the September 27, 2023 Budget Committee minutes as presented.

VOTE: 8-0

VI. REVIEW BUDGETS

Western Maine Transportation-19220 (Presented by Craig Zurhorst)

On motion of Robert Reed, seconded by Larry Pease, it was

VOTED:

(020-2023) to approve *Western Maine Transportation-19220* expenditures as presented at \$45,000.

VOTE: 8-0

Androscoggin-Sagadahoc Extension Association-19205 (Presented by Lynn Holland and Isabella Viscelli)

On motion of Kevin Nichols, seconded by Robert Reed, it was

VOTED:

(021-2023) to approve *Androscoggin-Sagadahoc Extension Association-19205* expenditures as presented at \$54,962.

VOTE: 8-0

AVCOG-19202 (Presented by Amy Landry)

On motion of Jane Pentheny, seconded by Lisa Cesare, it was

VOTED:

(**022-2023**) to table *AVCOG-19202*.

VOTE: 8-0

Androscoggin Valley Soil & Water Conservation District-19235 (Presented by Emma Lorusso)

On motion of Larry Pease, seconded by Larry Pelletier, it was

VOTED:

(023-2023) to approve *Androscoggin Valley Soil & Water Conservation District-19235* expenditures as presented at \$14,000.

VOTE: 8-0

Employee Benefits-12050 (Presented by Clarice Proctor)

On motion of Kevin Nichols, seconded by Robert Reed, it was

VOTED:

(**024-2023**) to table *Employee Benefits-12050*.

VOTE: 8-0

Registry of Deeds-16065 (Presented by Register of Deeds Tina Chouinard)

On motion of Kevin Nichols, seconded by Robert Reed, it was

VOTED:

(025-2023) to approve Registry of Deeds-16065 expenditures as presented at \$234,252.

VOTE: 8-0

Registry of Probate-18070

On motion of Larry Pease, seconded by Paula Masseli, it was

VOTED:

(**026-2023**) to table *Registry of Probate-18070*.

VOTE: 8-0

Commissioners-12020 (Presented by Clarice Proctor)

On motion of Robert Reed, seconded by Larry Pease, it was

VOTED:

(**027-2023**) to table *Commissioners-12020*.

VOTE: 8-0

Human Resources-12021 (Presented by Hillary Nadeau)

On motion of Kevin Nichols, seconded by Larry Pease, it was

VOTED:

(028-2023) to approve *Human Resources-12021* expenditures as presented at \$71,119.

VOTE: 8-0

Historical Society (Presented by Clarice Proctor)

On motion of Jane Pentheny, seconded by Robert Reed, it was

VOTED:

(029-2023) to table Historical Society.

VOTE: 8-0

VII. DISCUSS LETTER FROM COMMISSIONER AMES

On motion of Larry Pease, seconded by Kevin Nichols, it was

VOTED:

(030-2023) to table *Letter from Commissioner Ames*.

VOTE: 8-0

VIII. ADJOURN

On motion of Jane Pentheny, seconded by Larry Pease it was

VOTED:

(031-2023) to adjourn at 6:51 p.m.

VOTE: 8-0

Sandra Berube		