## STATE OF MAINE

ANDROSCOGGIN, SS.

September 11, 2013 Regular Meeting 6:00 P.M.

Commissioner Greenwood called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Present at the meeting were:

Randall Greenwood, Chairman
Elaine Makas, Commissioner
Beth Bell, Commissioner
Robert Poulin, Treasurer
Guy Desjardins, Sheriff
Nelson Peters, Chief Deputy
Raymond Lafrance, Public Safety Director
Glenn Holt, Asst. Public Safety Director
Eric Samson, Employee

Motion: to accept and approve with a waiver of reading the minutes of August 14, 2013. Bell – Greenwood 2-0-1 Makas Abstained

Motion: to accept and approve with a waiver of reading the minutes of August 29, 2013. Makas - Greenwood 2-0-1 Bell Abstained

Motion: to approve all bills, part-time deputies' payroll, Warrants #26 and #27, Correction Division Warrants # 6 and #7.

Makas - Greenwood 3-0

## Reports:

Commissioner Greenwood - Maine County Commissioners Association.

Commissioner Greenwood reminded everyone that the MCCA convention is this Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Commissioner Makas – Central/Western Maine Workforce Investment Board.

Nothing to report.

Commissioner Makas - Safety Committee.

Nothing to report.

Commissioner Bell - AVCOG

Nothing to report.

Public Comments: None

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the Registry of Probate dated August 26, 2013 and to Authorize the posting of the part-time preservation clerk.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the District Attorney's Office authorizing the payment for the Maine Prosecutors' Conference registration fees for October 20-23, 2013 in the amount of \$2,880.00 to be applied to the Joint Budget account 1018-4930.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the District Attorney's Office authorizing the payment for the Maine Prosecutors' Conference lodging fees to Atlantic Oceanside for October 20-23, 2013 in the amount of \$4,851.00 to be applied to the Joint Budget account 1018-4115.

Bell – Makas 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the District Attorney's Office authorizing the payment for the Maine Prosecutors' Conference registration fees for Kathy Monroe for October 20-23, 2013 in the amount of \$180.00 to be applied to the Victim-Witness Advocate grant 1019-4930.

Makas- Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the District Attorney's Office authorizing the payment for the Maine Prosecutors' Conference lodging fees to Atlantic Oceanside for Kathy Monroe October 20-23, 2013 in the amount of \$297.00 to be applied to the Victim-Witness Advocate grant 1019-4115.

Bell- Makas 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from Detective Sergeant William Gagne regarding his 90 day notice to retire effective January 1, 2014.

Bell – Makas 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the Sheriff's Department requesting the transfer of Corrections Officer Traveys Fecteau to Dispatcher at level 4 at \$17.90 per hour (eliminates night shift differential) for a 40 hour work week effective September 15, 2013 and to authorize the posting of the Corrections Officer position.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the Sheriff's Department requesting to hire Reserve Corrections Officer Thomas Farrington as a full-time Corrections Officer at \$14.10 per hour effective September 15, 2013.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the Sheriff's Department requesting to hire Reserve Corrections Officer Michael Greenleaf as a full-time Corrections Officer at \$14.10 per hour effective September 15, 2013.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to accept the correspondence from the Sheriff's Department requesting the promotion of Timothy Lajoie to Corporal at level 5 at \$21.50 per hour (includes night shift differential) effective September 15, 2013.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to certify the members of the Budget Committee for each Commission District.

District 1: (part of Lewiston) Richard Desjardins, Councilor and Michael Marcotte, Resident.

District 2(part of Lewiston) Nel Anctil, Resident and Donald D'Auteuil, Councilor.

District 3: (Town of Durham, Greene and part of Lewiston) Anthony Reny, Selectman of Greene and Jeffrey Wakeman, Selectman of Durham.

District 4: (Town of Lisbon, Sabattus and Wales) Michael Bowie, Resident of Lisbon and Don Fournier, Selectman of Sabattus.

District 5:( part of Auburn) Tizz Crowley, Councilor and Andrew Titus, Resident.

District 6:( part of Auburn and Town of Mechanic Falls, Poland) Norman J. Beauparlant, Resident of Poland and Nancy Richards, Selectman of Mechanic Falls.

District 7:( Town of Leeds, Livermore, Livermore Falls, Minot and Turner) Errol Additon, Selectman of Leeds and Emily Tuttle, Resident of Minot.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Consent Agenda: accept the consent agenda as presented:

Accept the Registry of Deeds cash report for August.

Accept the Sheriff's Department Civil Division report for August.

Accept the Sheriff's Department Professional leave for Rielly Bryant.

Accept the Sheriff's Department part-time appointments Auburn Police Department of Katherine Avery, Joseph Correia and Joseph Miville and full-time appointments of Corrections Officers Thomas Farrington and Michael Greenleaf.

Bell -Makas 3-0

Motion: to amend the personnel policy by changing the waiting period for medical coverage from 90 days to the first of the month after one (1) full calendar month of employment and to discontinue the option of Traditional Point of Service effective October 1, 2013.

Makas – Bell 3-0

Motion: to adjourn at  $5:45~\mathrm{pm}$ 

Bell – Makas 3-0

Patricia Fournier, County Clerk